Using the Centrify Connector tab

The Centrify Connector tab reports the customer ID under which the Centrify Connector is registered and whether or not the server is started. It also offers the following controls:

The Re-register button starts the Centrify Connector configuration wizard and allows you to re-register this connector. Generally, you re-register the connector under the same customer ID, and then only if the connector is having difficulty communicating with Privileged Access Service and customer support recommends that you re-register to address the issue.

Note:   Re-registering under a different ID can destabilize your environment and should be done only after consulting with customer support. Changing the ID moves the connector from one installation to another. If the connector is the only server in an installation, removing the server from the installation will cause any device registration to the installation to fail, and registered devices will no longer receive policy changes.

Click Start to start the connector if it’s stopped.

Click Stop to stop the connector if it’s running.

Select Allow support to access local connector logs to give the identity provider the ability to open the connector log files. These files can help resolve a problem and are the only files the service provider can open. The default is selected.

Click View Log to view the connector log. How to change connector log settings.

Use the Settings update interval text box to set the number of minutes this connector takes between checks on connector settings with Privileged Access Service.

When any connector in an installation changes its settings, it sends those settings to Privileged Access Service. When a connector checks settings with Privileged Access Service, if there were new settings reported from any of the other connectors in the installation, the checking connector downloads and accepts those settings. This ensures that all connector is in an installation have the same settings.

Use the Active Directory user verification interval text box to set the number of minutes this connector takes between checks for active AD user accounts. When the connector checks Active Directory user accounts, it contacts Active Directory/to see if the user account listed for each registered device is active. If a device’s associated user account is not active (is disabled or removed), Privileged Access Service unregisters the device.

Select the Enable auto-update check box to turn on automatic update for the connector. When auto-update is on, the connector checks with Privileged Access Service periodically to see if there is a connector update. If there is, the connector downloads and installs the update, then restarts. This ensures that connector software is up-to-date. We recommend that you enable this option. See How to auto-update connector software for the details.

Select Use a web proxy server for Privileged Access Service connection check box if your network is configured with a web proxy server that you want to use to connect to Privileged Access Service. Note that the web proxy must support HTTP 1.1 for a successful connection to Privileged Access Service. After you select this option, enter the following information to enable the web proxy connection:

  • Address is the URL of the web proxy server.
  • Port is the port number to use to connect to the web proxy server.
  • Click Credential to enter the user name and password for an account that can log in to the web proxy server.