You can select an account to work with by clicking anywhere in the row that contains the account name to display the account details or by clicking the check box for a row. Selecting an account displays the Actions menu from which you can select the action you want to perform.
The actions available depend on the type of account you have selected and the permissions you have been granted. For example, you might see some or all of the following actions on the Actions menu:
- Login to log on to the target system remotely using the selected account and stored password.
- Checkout to check out the password for the selected account.
- Extend to extend the check out time period.
- Checkin to check in the password for the selected account.
- Manage accounts to convert unmanaged accounts into managed accounts. If you are converting a single account and it doesn't have a password configured, you are prompted to enter a password for the selected account. If you select multiple accounts, Privileged Access Service sends an email notifying you of the success/failure of the multiple account management task. The Managed column on the Accounts page indicates the managed accounts. To convert all accounts associated with a set to managed, see Managing accounts in a set
- Update Password to update the password stored in the Privileged Access Service for an account.
- Rotate Password(s) to change the password stored in the Privileged Access Service for managed account(s) immediately without waiting for the rotation period to expire. This action is only available if the selected accounts are accounts with a managed password. If you select multiple accounts, Privileged Access Service sends an email notifying you of the success/failure of the multiple account rotate password task. To rotate all account passwords associated with a set, see Rotating passwords in a set on demand.
- Set as Admin Account to identify the selected account as a local administrative account.
- Clear as Admin Account to remove the selected account as a local administrative account.
- Add to Set to add the selected account to a new or existing set.
- Verify Credential to make sure the selected account credential (password or SSH key) in Privileged Access Service is in sync with the domain controller credential. Credential verification is performed when Verify Credential is selected from the Actions menu, when the account credential is changed, when an account or administrative account is added, and when resolving an account.The Last Verify Result column on the Accounts page displays nothing if the last credential verification for the account was successful. If the credential verification for the account failed for any reason the column displays Failed, Missing Credential, or Unknown.The Last Verify column on the Accounts page displays the date and time of the last credential verification.
- Show Offline Passcode to get a code to log into an offline system.
- Delete to remove the selected account from the Privileged Access Service.
- Unlock Account to manually unlock the selected account. This option is only visible if the user has the Unlock Account permission, and if the domain the account belongs to has an administrative account defined and has the Enable manual account unlock using administrative account policy enabled. To unlock an account, the user selecting the account must have the Unlock Account permission in the domain the account belongs to. For more information, see Assigning permissions and Enable manual account unlock using the administrative account.
- Launch <desktop application name> to launch the specified application. If you have desktop applications configured and the system is referenced in the Command Line field, then you will see the launch action for that application. See Adding Desktop Apps using the Admin Portal for information on configuring desktop applications.
If an account is configured to require the approval of a designated user or role, you might see the Request Login or Request Checkout actions. Selecting Request Login or Request Checkout sends an email request to the designated user or to the members of a designated role for approval. If your request is approved, you have limited period of time to take the action you requested.
The steps for checking out, checking in, or updating a password are the same whether you start from a system, domain, database, service, or account. Only the navigation to where you find the accounts listed and the specific tasks you see listed on an Actions menu vary based on where you are.
For more information about performing the account‑related tasks, see the following topics:
For more information about configuring, requesting, and responding to access requests, see Managing access requests.