Deleting accounts

If you have both the Delete and Checkout permissions, you can delete an account from the Privileged Access Service while viewing the accounts stored for a system, domain, or database. For information about setting account permissions to control which users, groups, or roles are allowed to delete accounts, see Changing access for an account.

Removing an account from the Privileged Access Service does not affect account information stored locally on the target system, domain, or database. However, you must display or copy the password to the clipboard before the account can be deleted to help ensure you can continue to use the account with its correct password after removing it from the Privileged Access Service.

If you want to delete a system, domain, or database entirely, you must first delete all of the accounts that have been stored for that system, domain, or database.

You can delete one account or bulk accounts as explained below:

To delete an account

  1. In the Admin Portal > Resources > Accounts to display the list of accounts.
  2. Click Local Accounts, Domain Accounts, or Database Accounts to select the type of account you want to delete.
  3. Select the specific account you want to delete.

    Optionally, you can display the account details and click Permissions to verify you have the Delete and Checkout permissions. However, you must have the Grant permission to verify permission settings.

  4. Click the Actions menu for the account, then click Delete.

    For example:

  5. Click Show Password if you want to view the password for the selected account as plain text or click Copy Password to copy the password without viewing it.

    After displaying or copying the password, the account is deleted from the Privileged Access Service immediately.

  6. Record the password for future reference, then click Close.

To bulk delete accounts

  1. In the Admin Portal > Resources > Accounts to display the list of accounts.
  2. Click Local Accounts, Domain Accounts, or Database Accounts to select the type of account you want to delete.
  3. Select the specific accounts you want to delete.

  4. Click the Actions menu for the account, then click Delete.

  5. Check the option Save password to secret to save the selected account passwords to secret.

You will receive an email notification of the delete activity. Additionally, you can navigate to Jobs and review all account activity. Accounts are deleted in the background and may not immediately appear deleted.

Note:   If you have performed a bulk account delete, the secret file is saved with view only permission until the system administrator has given you rights to perform additional tasks.