Setting and synchronizing audit-related permissions

As a Master Auditor, you can set the permissions that control what all other administrators and auditors can do. In most cases, you set these permissions by making selections in Audit Manager. Your selections are saved in the management database for each installation, then published in Active Directory whenever you synchronize the management database with the service connection point for the installation.

The permissions you can set consist of a specific action that can be taken, a scope to which the action applies, and the specific Active Directory user or group to which you are granting the permission.

For example, a permission might specify an action, such as ability to modify a name or detach a database with a scope such as a specific installation or audit store database. For each action and scope, you select the Active Directory user or group to be granted that permission. After users or groups are granted a permission, they are called a trustee for that action and scope.

To view the existing permissions, right-click an installation or an audit store and select Properties, then click the Security tab.