Enabling or disabling video capture auditing

In most cases, you decide whether to enable video capture auditing when you create a new installation. You can, however, choose to enable or disable video capture auditing for an installation at any time. For example, you might enable full video capture auditing of user activity during your initial deployment and later find that you are capturing user activity that is of no interest or requires too much database management to store. Conversely, you might initially decide not to enable video capture and later discover that you want to record complete information about user activity when users run privileged commands or open certain applications.

You can also choose to enable video capture editing for an installation but disable it for specific computers. You disable or enable video capture auditing for a specific computer or set of computers by using group policy settings or by modifying the agent.video.capture setting. For details, see the Group Policy Guide or the Configuration and Tuning Reference Guide.

For information about enabling or disabling auditing on Windows or Linux/UNIX computers, see Enabling or disabling auditing on Windows computers and Enabling or disabling auditing on Linux and UNIX computers

To enable or disable video capture auditing for an installation:

  1. In the Audit Manager console, right-click the installation name, then select Properties.
  2. Click the Audit Options tab.
  3. Select Enable video capture auditing of user activity if it is not selected to start capturing a visual record of all user activity when users perform tasks using a role that is configured to be audited.

    Deselect this option to stop all video capture auditing. If you disable video capture auditing, you will not be able to replay session activity.

  4. Click OK or Apply.