Opening and closing zones

Because properties and objects are organized into zones, you must open a zone to work with its contents. If you open a parent zone, its child zones are also available for you to use by default. If you open a child zone, you can choose whether to open its parent zone. Once you open a zone, it stays open until you close it and you can have multiple zones and zone levels open at the same time. If you have a large number of zones, you should close any zones you aren’t actively working with for better performance.

As an alternative to opening individual or parent and child zones manually, you can automatically load all zones in a forest or all zones in a specific container at startup time. If you choose to load all zones, you cannot manually close zones.

To open an individual parent or child zone:

  1. Open Access Manager.
  2. In the console tree, select Zones and right-click, then click Open Zone.
  3. Type all or part of the name of the zone you want to open, then click Find Now.
  4. Select the zone to open from the list of results, then click OK. You can use the CTRL and SHIFT keys to select multiple zones.

After you open the zones you want to work with, you should save your changes when you exit the Access Manager console, so that the open zones are displayed by default the next time you start the console.

To close an open zone:

  1. Open Access Manager.
  2. Expand the zone hierarchy until you can select the specific zone name you want to close
  3. Right-click, then click Close.
  4. Click Yes to confirm that you want to close the zone.

To load all zones automatically:

  1. Open Access Manager.
  2. In the console tree, select Centrify Access Manager, right-click, then click Options.
  3. On the Filter Settings tab, select Load all zones, then select connected forest to automatically load all zones in the forest or click Browse to navigate to specific container.

    Selecting this option prevents you from opening or closing any zones manually. You should not select the Load all zones option if you want to manually open and close individual zones for performance reasons.