Removing local Windows accounts

If you have enabled local account management on a Windows system, there are two different ways to remove users. Your approach depends on if you've configured to enforce local account management or not.

Be aware that if you enable local account management, the service does not delete any built-in Windows users or groups, even if you mark one of those accounts for remove.

To remove a local Windows user or group if local account management is enforced:

  • In Access Manager, right-click the user or group and select Delete.

    The account is removed from Access Manager immediately. When the service next synchronizes local account information, the service removes the user or group from the affected Windows systems too.

To remove a local Windows user or group if local account management is not enforced:

  • In Access Manager, right-click the desired user or group and select Change Profile State, then select Remove.

    The account is marked as "Remove" and remains visible in Access Manager. When the service next synchronizes local account information, the service removes the user or group from the affected Windows systems too.