Setting Mac group policies

Like other group policies, policies for Mac users and computers are organized into categories within the Group Policy Management Editor under Computer Configuration > Policies > Centrify Settings > Mac OS X Settings (Setting computer-based group policies) or Centrify Settings > Mac OS X Settings (Setting user-based group policies). In general, these categories map directly to different types of Mac system preferences and individual policy settings within the categories map to specific settings within the system preference.

Normally, once enabled, policies get applied at the next group policy refresh interval, after the user logs out and logs back in, or after the computer has been rebooted. Some Mac group policies, however, require the user to log out and log back in or the computer to be rebooted. The description of each group policy indicates whether the policy can be applied “dynamically” at the next refresh interval or requires a re-login or a reboot.

You may also update group policies manually by running the adgpupdate command on an individual computer. See Updating configuration policies manually.

Note:   The system preference updated on an individual computer must be closed, then reopened for the group policy setting to be visible.

In most cases, group policies can be Enabled to activate the policy or Disabled to deactivate a previously enabled policy. Changing a policy to Not Configured has no effect for any Mac group policies. Once a group policy is set on a local computer, it remains in effect even if the computer leaves the Active Directory domain. The administrator or users with an administrative account can change settings manually at the local computer, but any manual change are overwritten when the group policy is applied.