Manually/automatically sync in the background

Path

User Configuration > Policies > Centrify Settings > Mac OS X Settings > Mobility Settings > Mac OS X 10.8 to 10.11 Settings > Synchronization Rules > Options > Manually/automatically sync in the background

Description

Select whether background synchronization for mobile user accounts should be initiated manually or automatically at a set interval. If you enable this group policy, select whether synchronization should be initiated automatically or manually.

If you initiate background synchronization automatically, you can also specify how frequently folders should be synchronized. You can set frequency from every 5 minutes to every 8 hours. The default interval is 20 minutes.

In setting the background synchronization interval, you should take into account the network bandwidth and the number of concurrent users the Mac OS X server supports. If you set background synchronization to occur at a short interval, such as every 5 minutes, and there are many concurrent users, you may overload the server. For example, the server may become backlogged by the too-frequent comparison of file modification dates. If you set background synchronization to occur less frequently, for example every 60 minutes, users may load older, outdated files. For example, if a user saves changes to a file and logs off before files are synchronized at the next interval, when the user loads that same file on another computer, he may get an older version of the file or no file at all.

Select Show status in menu bar to display a mobile account status menu on mobile account user's menu bar. This menu allows users to do the following:

  • View the last time they synced
  • Manually start a sync
  • Edit their home sync preferences

Note:   If you do not enable the sync status menu bar, users can still manage their home sync preferences through the Accounts pane of System preferences. However, if you manage any mobility settings through group policy, users cannot change those home sync preferences.

Once enabled, this group policy takes effect when users log out and log back in.