Enable home sync rules

Path

User Configuration > Policies > Centrify Settings > Mac OS X Settings > Mobility Settings > Mac OS X 10.7 Settings > Synchronization Rules > Home Sync > Enable home sync rules

Description

Enable this policy to configure home sync rules. This policy is found in the Home Sync folder.

This policy is used for files in the user’s home folder (~), but not for ~/Library.

To configure home sync, enable this policy and select one or more of the following sync options:

  • at login Sync files when a mobile user logs in.
  • at logout Sync files when a mobile user logs out.
  • in the background Sync files in the background at the interval specified by the Manually/automatically sync in the background policy.
  • manually Allow users to sync manually.

Deselect any of these options to prevent that type of syncing. For example, deselect manually to prevent users from syncing manually.

To stop mobile accounts from syncing files entirely, you must enable this policy and deselect all options. You also need to set the Manually/automatically sync in the background policy to “Not Configured” or “Disabled”.

If you don't manage these policies, users' current sync settings remain in effect and users can choose their sync settings in the Accounts pane of System Preferences.

You also need to set the Synchronize items >Synchronize home sync items policy to Not Configured or Disabled.

Select Merge with user's settings to add synced folders to folders the user selects for syncing,

If you sync the same folder in group policy as the user chooses in the Accounts pane of System Preferences, merging causes the group policy sync settings to take precedence. If you do not select Merge with user's settings, the folders you sync replace those chosen by the user.

Once enabled, this group policy takes effect when users log out and back in.