Enable login items

Path

User Configuration > Policies > Centrify Settings > Mac OS X Settings > Login Settings > Enable login items

Description

Specify the names of applications, folders, and server locations to open automatically when a user logs in. Select Enable, then do any or all of the following:

  • Login items. To add an application to open automatically, click Add, then type the path to the application; for example:
    /Applications/TextEdit.app

    To initially hide the application, select Hide. The application will open, but its window and menu bar remain hidden until the user activates the application (for example, by clicking the application icon in the doc).

    Click OK to save the item you entered. You can click Add as often as necessary to add multiple applications. You can also select an item in the window and click Edit to change it, or Remove to delete it.

  • Network share. To add access to a network share, click Add, then type the URL in one of the following formats:

    smb://server/share
    smb://server/hidden$
    smb://server/share/subdir
    smb://user:password@server/share
    smb://user:@server/share
    afp://server/share
    nfs://server/share
    nfs://192.168.0.1/share

To automatically connect the user to the share with the user's login name and password, select Authenticate selected share point with user’s login name and password.

Note:   If you uncheck this option, the share name must comply with RFC 1738 - Uniform Resource Locators (URL), which specifies that special characters need to be encoded, for example, by using %20 instead of a space.

If the network share can be authenticated using Kerberos, this option can be ignored. If the network share cannot be authenticated using Kerberos, and this option is unchecked, then the user will be prompted for a username and password.

If a username is specified in the URL for the network share, then checking this option will still mount the share as the login user, while deselecting this option will mount the share as the user specified in the URL. For example, if network share is smb://mount_user:password@server/share, checking the option will mount the share as login_user, while deselecting the option will mount the share as mount_user.

Click OK to save the item you entered. You can click Add as often as necessary to add multiple shares. You can also select an item in the window and click Edit to change it, or Remove to delete it.

  • Select User may add and remove additional items to allow users to add items to the list and remove items from the list.

    Deselect this box to prevent users from adding items or removing the items that you have specified. Note that they can remove login items that they specified on their own.

  • Select User may press Shift to keep items from opening to allow user’s to stop items from opening by holding down the Shift key during login until the Finder appears on the desktop.

    Deselect this option to prevent users from stopping applications from opening automatically.

Once enabled, this group policy takes effect when users log out and log back in.