Delete mobile accounts automatically

Path

User Configuration > Policies > Centrify Settings > Mac OS X Settings > Mobility Settings > macOS 10.12 or above > Account Expiry > Delete mobile accounts automatically

Description

Specify whether to delete mobile accounts and their local home folders automatically after a specified period of inactivity.

Typically, macOS creates a local home folder on each computer on which a user enables a mobile account. If a user stops using one or more of these computers, these local home folders create clutter and unnecessarily consume disk space.

If you enable this policy, a mobile account and its local home folder are deleted after the specified period of inactivity.

Set the expiration to 0 to delete the mobile account and its local home folder immediately after the user logs out.

Enter the following information:

  • Time: The number of hours, days, or weeks (specified in Time Unit Period of inactivity that triggers deletion of mobile accounts and their associated local home folders.
  • Time Unit: Select hours, days, or weeks as the type of unit for the number specified in Time.
  • Delete only after successful sync: Select this option to wait to delete the account and folder until after the account has been synced.

This policy does not delete external accounts, that is, accounts with local home folders on an external drive.

Once enabled, this group policy takes effect when users log out and log back in.