Enable preference sync rules

Path

User Configuration > Policies > Centrify Settings > Mac OS X Settings > Mobility Settings > Mac OS X 10.7 Settings > Synchronization Rules > Preference Sync

Description

Configure preference sync rules.

This policy configures options for syncing preference files, which are typically stored in ~/Library.

To configure preference sync, enable this policy and select one or more of the following sync options:

  • at login Sync files when a mobile user logs in.
  • at logout Sync files when a mobile user logs out.
  • in the background Sync files in the background at the interval specified by the Manually/automatically sync in the backgroundpolicy.
  • manually Allow users to sync manually.

Deselect any of these options to prevent that type of syncing. For example, deselect manually to prevent users from syncing manually.

To stop mobile accounts from syncing files entirely, you must enable this policy and deselect all options. You also need to set theManually/automatically sync in the backgroundpolicy to “Not Configured” or “Disabled”.

If you don't manage these policies, users' current sync settings remain in effect and users can choose their sync settings in the Accounts pane of System Preferences.

To add synced folders to folders the user selects for syncing, select Merge with user's settings.

If you sync the same folder in group policy as the user chooses in the Accounts pane of System Preferences, merging causes the group policy sync settings to take precedence. If you do not select Merge with user's settings, the folders you sync replace those chosen by the user.

Once enabled, this group policy takes effect when users log out and back in.