Showing the correct status of the Centrify plug-in

The Centrify plug-in is automatically added to the list of Apple Directory Utility plug-ins that are used for lookup and authentication. However, if the Apple Directory Utility tool is running when you install the Centrify DirectControl Agent for Mac, or when you join or leave a domain before updating to a new version of the agent, it will incorrectly display the status of the plug-in. For example, it will show the status as disabled, when in fact, the plug-in is enabled.

To avoid this problem, before launching the installer, be certain that the Apple Directory Utility tool is closed.

If the Directory Utility was open during installation, simply close and re-open Directory Utility, then make certain that the Centrify plug-in is enabled.

You may also restart the Centrify plug-in from the command line, as follows:

  1. Close the Directory Utility.
  2. Open a terminal.
  3. Enter the following command:
    /usr/local/share/centrifydc/bin/dsconfig restart
  4. Open the Directory Utility. The status of Centrify should be enabled.